Writing Challenge: Day 7 – The Lion

I’ve always felt some connection between myself and being a Leo. I was born on August 9th, 1989. 8.9.89. I would like to point out at that the late, great Whitney Houston was also born on August 9th.

I’m an uncharacteristically shy Leo. I don’t feel like I’m as self-centered as others think Leos are either. I lean more towards having the characteristics of a Lion than whatever a Leo is…

I’m a Queen. Loyal. Protective and territorial. I am hunter and nurturer. Loving and ferocious. My growl is loud, my bite only happens out of necessity. I can be gentle and let my vicious side reveal itself.

I will leave you with a few lines from Beyonce’s “Don’t Hurt Yourself” from Lemonade below. I feel the need to remind myself that I am not broken, there’s so much strength inside of me. There are some people and things threatening my sanity lately.
tumblr_omirniunZc1rrg2ifo6_1280.jpg

 

 

Precious Jalisa

Leave a Reply

