Writing Challenge: Day Three – Day I Don’t Even Know

I will be smashing a few writing prompts into one post because I suck and have been forgetting that I am doing a writing challenge. Will there be a prompt about how I can’t keep my shit together for more than five seconds? My writing partner, Priscilla, didn’t yell at me. Let’s blame her. Funny, sometimes people don’t believe that my name is Precious and they usually call me Priscilla or Princess instead. Random useless information about me. You’re welcome!

Day Three – Your views on Drugs and Alcohol

Yes and Fuck Yes. Done.

Haha, just kidding. Probably the only thing that is a constant in my world is alcohol. If there was ever a musical about my life, it would be a one woman show singing to a bottle of Cabernet. Its name would be “Cabbie,” kind of like Gabby but not.

Every Tuesday, I sit in the corner of this bar and talk to the bartender as I gulp margaritas. I don’t know why I keep drinking tequila, it makes me overly friendly and I get the flirty eyes with everyone. I. Don’t. Care. Who. You. Are. These brown eyes will dance with you. Deal with it.

My drug of choice right now? Fish tacos. Until the death of me.

Day Four – Your Views on Religion

I could never step foot in another church in my life and that would be okay with me, because I know God doesn’t dwell in a building. I don’t need the guidelines of the Bible or a preacher in expensive shoes and a suit to tell me how to live my life, be a good person, and treat others.

I’ve never felt God be more present than when I’m quiet and still… listening… surrounded by nature. I meet God in the smile of a kind stranger… not in the handshake of a deacon. I truly believe that religion has become a tool of control. Maybe it didn’t start that way… maybe it just started with a group of people crying to the sky for rain to come because they were thirsty. It’s turned into something so fake… and disgusting.

I’m so glad my spirituality is rooted in something more than what others have tried to convince me to believe in.

Day Five – A Time You Thought About Ending Your Own Life

I stare at the scar sometimes

Remembering the moment well

Seems like a lifetime has passed

but I still can’t talk about it…

Maybe when the scar fades and I’ve run out of shame.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

