Bare

12250157_10156203267465291_3273384067781690434_n

I let you pick my flowers that bloomed

Spring was beautiful

and Summer was too.

But when Autumn came

Grey skies revealed the truth

And there was nothing I could do

Leaves browned and my flowers disappeared

My roots bare and my scars were revealed

My truth undressed for you to see

Instead of loving me

You would cowardly flee

As soon as the last flower is plucked

The last leaf has fallen

When there’s nothing left to look at… but… me.

Who will love me through the winter season?

Who will love what’s underneath?

They only appreciate the flowers that bloom.

Not the barren roots, held together by hope

under dark skies of gloom.

Leave a Reply

