Beautiful Soul: A Journal Entry

I’ve always thought differently than most people around me. I’m okay with that, it doesn’t scare me to be different.

I am a human first. A woman second. Black third. I am so much more than these words. When I look into the mirror, I do not see a beautiful black woman with natural hair and a cute smile… I see my soul. I see what’s behind my eyes and what’s coming from inside of me. My energy, I guess we could call it. Then, I see the physical. I don’t know when it happened but I’ve become aware of it.

I’ve become aware of how grounded I feel and accepting of every part of me. I’m not placing anyone else’s definitions or generalizations of who I am upon myself. If I end up with no one by my side, that is fine… because if the people in my life can’t love and accept me the way I love and accept myself then is it really worth it? No.

Leave a Reply

