The Cultural Divides of Pumpkin Vs. Sweet Potato | Daily Prompt

Autumn Leaves

Changing colors, dropping temperatures, pumpkin spice lattes: do these mainstays of Fall fill your heart with warmth — or with dread?

I live in Houston, Texas, the leaves don’t change colors. They just dry up, die and fall to the ground, but I’ve always loved walking through all the leaves that scatter. It’s a peaceful moment for me when I go for a walk, snuggled in a jacket, tights and sneakers, listening to the sounds of leaves crunching and the wind blowing on my face.

Am I suppose to have a pumpkin spice latte in my hand when I do this? I can’t get behind those… I grew up on sweet potato pies not pumpkin pies. It actually makes me feel uncomfortable… pumpkin. Pumpkin Spice. Pumpkin Spice Latte. I could get behind a Sweet Potato Pie Latte. Maybe. I don’t know. Someone call Starbucks, I don’t think they’ve tapped into the potential of this. This could open up a whole new demographic for them. Nae Nae in Fifth Ward would find herself at Starbucks asking for a Venti Sweet Potato Pie Latte because the taste reminds her of her grandmother.

Starbucks Officials: If you are by some small chance reading this. I need you to know this is my idea and will be seeking a settlement if you use my idea. I am willing to help put this whole thing together and once the Sweet Potato Pie Latte is a hit with every grandma, Auntie Von, and Ray Ray across the world…. you will thank me.

pumpkin-spice-latte

Back to my peaceful mornings, I am planning a trip for next month because I will have some extra cash. I want to go somewhere where the leaves change… but I’m wondering how far I have to drive for that. Just to be out in nature would be great, maybe I can find a Groupon for a cabin on a lake somewhere. My girls and I need a vacation.

There are 67 days until Thanksgiving… I’m going to leave this video here to solidify my sweet potato idea. I win!

Leave a Reply

