Why Isn’t There An “How to Be an Adult” Class in High School? | Daily Prompt

There’s a difference between getting older and actually becoming an adult. A productive member of society as my Mom would say. I’ve actually had this conversation recently with other 20 something year olds that aren’t where they thought they would be at this point in their lives.

When I was a child, I thought I would find the cure for cancer or HIV, be a world renown chef or be a great teacher. I wish someone would have sat me down around the age of 15 or 16 and said, “Yes, you CAN be and do whatever you want; however, here are some things you should know.” Then follow up with a list similar to the following:

  • It is so important to SAVE your money.
  • Having a “9 to 5” is the most mundane thing and don’t strap yourself down to the idea that having a “normal job” is the do all/be all of your existence.
  • If something/someone does not make you happy remove it/that person out of your life, be it a good friend, a job, a lover, whatever. It is not worth it.
  • At any moment your whole life can do a 180 degree turn, hold on and try your best to navigate through it. We will redefine ourselves so many times throughout our lives. You will not be the same person that you are now in two years. Or ten years. Or twenty.
  • It is important to find your voice in this world and mainly for when people make you feel less than, so you will be able to tell that person “FUCK YOU and your 2 cents!”
  • The truth about marriage and relationships and how it takes compromise, trust, honesty and COMMUNICATION to build a strong one. Or just tell me that it fuckin sucks to be someone’s ball and chain.
  • Sometimes you just need to put yourself first… so, don’t feel bad or apologize for that.

I’m sure there’s more, like “less important stuff” like:

  • Figure out which cheap wine you can tolerate and always have a secret wine stash or cash to run to the store when you’ve had a bad day.
  • Always have an exit plan when you live with a boyfriend or roommate. Sometimes you need to get out and you need to get out FAST.
  • Your love life will never be like the movies. so stop dreaming honey.

Really, there’s so much stuff that needs to be said that I think there should be a class in High School. It’s not required to learn how to apply for an apartment, how to write out a budget and actually execute it, or that your credit determines so many things about how you can live in this society. But of course I need to know how to calculate the volume of a cylinder because I like to guess how many green beans are in the can before I open it!

Your friend,

Precious

P.S. Shoutout to my friend Tara for this blog idea that stemmed from a conversation we had and to my best friend Evie for helping me come up with the list! Love you girls.

7 thoughts on “Why Isn’t There An “How to Be an Adult” Class in High School? | Daily Prompt

  1. Spot on!! I can definitely relate to this. Seriously why do I need to know how many green beans are in a can, but not know how to balance a budget? Which, luckily my parents taught me….but I know a lot of kids that had no idea how to do that.

    Like

  2. i would have benefited greatly from an adult highschool class. i was FUCKING clueless until i was “out there”. Thanks world! Tah.

    Like

Leave a Reply

