Hypersensitivity

I wish I didn’t feel.

I wish I could shrug shit off like Kanye West.

I wish I didn’t lose my train of thought in a stranger’s smile.

Delight in every freckle on someone’s face.

Be intrigued with everyone’s story

Inspired by everything.

I wish I didn’t get distracted by every leaf blowing in the wind,

Every sound that vibrates passed my ears.

I wish my mind was quiet and I could detach

from my own heart… and just rest.

I wish I didn’t love.

I wish I couldn’t love.

I wish I stayed cool as winterfresh gum

Never needing validation or reassurance

Never cracked under the pressure of a lover’s gaze

I wish I would stop changing so I could catch up

 

pour out some of the emotion of this overflowing cup…

 

Sometimes I wish I was less than this…

that I was just a breeze dancing over the waves in the middle of the ocean.

Or a laugh escaping into the day that is soon over and forgotten.

Yeah, I wish I could just rest.

One thought on “Hypersensitivity

Leave a comment